Pheasants Forever Nebraska

Join Now
Menu
Nebraska Pheasants Forever

Corners for Wildlife

CFW photo 1 Corners For Wildlife is a program unique to Nebraska that establishes permanent wildlife habitat on center pivot irrigation  corners. This program is driven by funding and commitment  from  local Pheasants Forever chapters, the Nebraska Environmental Trust (NET), Nebraska Game & Parks Commission (NGPC) and local Natural Resource Districts (NRDs). To date, this program has been awarded grants from the NET totaling  $3,727,000.

Landowners enrolling in the program receive 75% cost-share assistance from Pheasants and Quail Forever chapters for the cost of seed and wildlife shrubs and a 5-year rental payment of up to $100 per acre each year, depending on the cover practice selected. NET and NGPC funds are applied solely to pay for landowner rental payments. The participating NRD plants the trees for free when the landowner selects 400 or more trees or shrubs for the project.

 

Farm Bill Wildlife Biologist Counties Covered
Mike Winkler
308-345-4163 ext. 3
Michael.Winkler@ne.usda.gov
Frontier, Hayes, Hitchcock, Red Willow
Rob Gray
402-367-3074
Robert.Gray@ne.usda.gov
Butler, Colfax, Cumming, Dodge, Madision, Platte, Polk, Saunders, Seward, Stanton
Bruce Sprague
402-269-2361
Bruce.Sprague@ne.usda.gov
Cass, Gage, Johnson, Lancaster, Nemaha, Otoe, Pawnee, Richardson, Saline
Taylor Spencer
402-254-6858
Bryce.Spencer@ne.usda.gov
Cedar, Dixon, Knox, Pierce, Wayne
Jake Koenig
308-534-2360
Jacob.Koenig@ne.usda.gov 
Arthur, Blaine, Cherry, Grant, Hooker, Keith, Lincoln, Logan, McPherson, Thomas
Ethan Teter
308-872-6877
Ethan.Teeter@ne.usda.gov
Buffalo, Custer, Dawson, Loup
Heather Francis
308-882-4263
heather.francis@ne.usda.gov
Chase, Dundy, Perkins
Mallory Irvine
402-746-2268 ext. 3
mirvine@pheasantsforever.org
Franklin, Furnas, Gosper, Harlan, Kearney, Phelps, Webster
 Ryan Lodge
308-754-4424 ext. 3
Ryan.Lodge@ne.usda.gov
Antelope, Boone, Boyd, Brown, Garfield, Greeley, Holt, Howard, Keya Paha, Nance, Rock, Sherman, Valley, Wheeler
 Scott Schmidt
402-426-2625
Scott.Schmidt@ne.usda.gov
Burt, Dakota, Douglas, Sarpy, Thurston, Washington
Mike Klosterman
308-632-2195
Michael.Klosterman@ne.usda.gov
 Banner, Box Butte, Cheyenne, Dawes, Deuel, Garden, Morrill, Sheridan, Sioux, Scottsbluff
 Jenny Prenosil
402-729-6134
Jennifer.Prenosil@ne.usda.gov
 Adams, Clay, Filmore, Hall, Hamilton, Jefferson, Merrick, Nuckolls, Thayer, York

 

 

CFW photo 2Program Results
The program has:

  • Enrolled a total of 1,572 corners across the state.
  • Planted 558,941 trees and shrubs.
  • Created 10,531 acres of nesting cover.
  • Applied 699,320 feet of fabric weed barrier to tree plantings.
  • Worked with 17 participating Natural Resource Districts.

Information updated 09-14-15

PF_logo.1bf301156fQF_logo.f023971eed NET logoNNRD logo NGPC_logo.85da4f2b5e